Events Calendar Dublin Gallery

All zones

Government Departments

The role of government departments is to implement government policy and to advise ministers. They are staffed by politically impartial civil servants and often work alongside local authorities, non-departmental public bodies, and other government-sponsored organisations. There are 15 government departments in Ireland. Each department is headed by a Minister who is appointed by the Taoiseach (Irish Prime Minister). The Minister may suggest new or amended legislation to the Government relating to issues that arise in his or her department. If you have a complaint about a decision taken by a government department or public body, you can contact the Ombudsman.

Links and Resources

  • IrlGov All Government Departments
    With information on the 15 government departments, this site is also useful to find government organisations by providing links, indices of recent publications and a search engine. more »
  • Citizens InformationCitizens Information
    There are 15 Government departments in Ireland. Each department is headed by a minister appointed by the Taoiseach (Ireland's Prime Minister). 
    more »

A-Z Political Parties

European Parliament has been made possible by the support of Dublin City Council © 2016